Click below for information on ABS Committee members. If you would like to contact a Committee member please do so by getting in touch with the ABS office.

Mr Giles Cunnick


Mr Mark Sibbering

President of the ABS

Ashu Gandhi

Chair of the NHS BSP/ABS Screening Audit Group

Mr Pud Bhaskar

Clinical Advisor in Breast Surgery

Miss Marianne Dillon

Clinical Advisor in Breast Surgery

Miss Sarah Downey

Clinical Advisor in Breast Surgery

Mr Colm Hennessy

Clinical Advisor in Breast Surgery

Mr Brendan McFall

Clinical Advisor in Breast Surgery

Mr Seni Mylvaganam

Clinical Advisor in Breast Surgery

Mr Simon Pain

Clinical Advisor in Breast Surgery

Mr Zenon Rayter

Clinical Advisor in Breast Surgery

Miss Sheila Stallard

Clinical Advisor in Breast Surgery

Ms Karyn Shenton

Clinical Advisor in Breast Surgery

Miss Poppy Valassiadou

Clinical Advisor in Breast Surgery

Miss Leena Chagla

ABS Trustee

Mrs Margaret Casey


Mrs Jacquie Jenkins


Prof Chris Holcombe


Research interests include the management of breast cancer in older women and treatment choices for women with breast cancer.

Prof John Benson

ABS Trustee

Research interests include investigation of a fluorescent navigation system for sentinel lymph node (SLN) detection and development of a model for assessing fibroblast transformation. Other roles include local Principle Investigator for several national trials including POSNOC and MarginProbe and co-investigator for BUBBLES, PRIMETIME and PIONEER.

Mr Ramsey Cutress


Research interests include breast cancer translational research; breast cancer clinical trials and peri-surgical window studies and nutritional and metabolic determinants of breast cancer outcome.

Ms Pat Fairbrother

Patient Representative

Diagnosed with breast cancer in 1999, Pat became a patient advocate the following year and soon after a board member of a national breast cancer charity. Pat is a founder member of the Independent Cancer Patients' Voice and is now a Trustee. She is engaged in working with several trial management groups looking at patient information for recruitment.

Miss Shelley Potter


Research interests include Improving outcomes in breast reconstruction; Surgical trials methodology; Feasibility studies using mixed (qualitative and quantative) methods; Systematic reviews. Other roles include Chair of the Mammary Fold Academic & Research Collaborative (MFAC) and Trainee member of the NCRI Breast Clinical Studies Group.

Professor Deborah Fenlon

Breast Care Nurse Representative

Research interests include understanding the experiences and managing problems post breast cancer treatment, including menopause, joint pain and lymphoedema.

Ms Sarah Hilborne

Trials Nurse Representative

Sarah has 13 years of experience as a research nurse at Addenbrooke's Hospital and has worked in breast research on a large, multi-centre translational neo-adjuvant study recruiting breast cancer patients for four years.

Prof Amtul Carmichael


Prof Carmichael's main research interest is in lifestyle and breast cancer and investigating the role of obesity and physical activity in the management of breast cancer.

Prof Michael Douek


Prof Douek has an interest in developing and evaluating novel techniques for cancer surgery. He is chief investigator of several national and international trials including those of a novel magnetic technique for sentinel node biopsy, which he developed. He was awarded a Hunterian Professorship by the Royal College of Surgeons of England in 2015 for his work on the magnetic technique for sentinel node biopsy.

Mr James Harvey


Research interests include radiotherapy and breast reconstruction outcomes; clinical breast surgery research; iImplant coatings; medical device testing. Other roles include Co-supervisor of North West Breast Trainees Research Collaborative and Faculty for research modules of MS in Oncoplastic Breast Surgery.

Ms Cliona Kirwan


Research interests include clinical trials; academic training and Translational Research.

Mr Daniel Leff


Research interests include surgical technologies for oncological margin controls; surgical education, skills training and simulation and neuroergonomic research.

Mr Stuart McIntosh


Research interests include Chemoprevention in high risk patient groups; Biomarker driven studies in the neoadjuvant treatment of breast cancer; Use of three dimensional surface imaging technologies in breast surgery. Other roles include Deputy Director Northern Cancer Ireland Cancer Trials Network and Member, NCRI Breast Clinical Studies Group.

Mr Laszlo Romics


Research interests includes the oncological outcomes after oncoplastic breast conservations and post-mastectomy breast reconstructions, effect of peritumoural inflammation on recurrence and variations in old age breast cancer treatment. 

Miss Raghavan Vidya


Research interests include new innovations and devices, implant based breast reconstruction, axillary staging and window studies.

Mr Bashar Zeidan

Mammary Fold Academic Sub-Committee Lead

Lee Martin


Phil Drew

ABS Trustee

Anne Tansley

ABS Trustee

Sue Down


Penny McManus


Joe O'Donoghue


Simon Smith


Philip Turton


Mr Ashu Gandhi


Leena Chagla

Clinical Advisor in Breast Surgery

Miss Nicola Roche

ABS Trustee

Mrs Joanna Rowley

ABS Nursing Trustee

Mr Marcus Galea

ABS Guidelines Coordinator  

Mr Lee Martin

Aesthetic Breast Surgery Committee Rep

Mr Kieran Horgan

NABCOP Audit Representative

NHS England Breast Cancer SSCRG Representative

Mr Maurice Stokes

Society of Irish Breast Surgeons Representative



Mr Richard Haywood

BAPRAS Representative

Mr Ash Subramanian

Communications Working Group Representative

Mr Subramanian is a consultant oncoplastic surgeon based on the south coast. He has a particular interest in patient communication and delivering patient choice in an effective way. He is currently Director of Communications for the ABS.

Mark Sibbering

Sloane Project Rep

Giles Cunnick

Chair of the ABS/NHS BSP Screening Committee

Mr Simon Smith

Eastern Regional Representative

Mr Amit Goyal

East Midlands Regional Representative

Ms Jennifer Hu

London Regional Representative

Mr Mysore Chandrashekar

Merseyside Regional Representative

Mr Kevin Clark

Northern Regional Representative

Miss Sam Sloan

Northern Ireland Regional Representative

Miss Maria Bramley

North West Regional Representative

Mr Matthew Barber

Scotland Regional Representative

Mr Constantinos Yiangou

South East Central Regional Representative

Ms Karina Cox

South East Coast Regional Representative

Mrs Clare Fowler

South West Regional Representative

Mr Richard Johnson

Wales Regional Representative

Mr Soni Soumian

West Midlands Regional Representative

Ms Kathryn Rigby

Yorkshire & Humberside Regional Representative

Miss Fiona Langlands

Mammary Fold Representative

Miss Anne Tansley


Miss Julie Doughty

Vice President of the ABS

Prof Phil Drew

ABS Trustee

Mrs Katy Hogben

ABS Trustee

Miss Suzanne Joharchi

Nursing Representative

Miss Gina Weston-Petrides

Mammary Fold Representative

Mr Rathinasabapathy Rathinaezhil

SAS Representative

Ms Anushka Chaudhry


Mr Henry Cain


Mr Sankaran Narayanan


Mr Duraisamy Ravichandran


Sarah Downey


Ann Pearson

Nursing Member