Here you will find information about the Association of Breast Surgery's Trustees. If you wish to contact any of the Trustees please do so via the ABS by sending an email to

Miss Fiona MacNeill


Miss MacNeill qualified from St Bartholomew’s Hospital, London, and was awarded an MD thesis investigating first generation aromatase inhibitors. She has been a specialist breast and oncoplastic surgeon, trainer, educator and mentor for over 20 years.  Awarded the Silver Scalpel ‘Trainer of the Year’ in 2006 and the inaugural Querci Della Rovere Prize for ‘Excellence in Cancer Surgery’ ESSO/BASO 2014.  She became a fellow of the European Board of Surgery in 2010 and president of ABS from 2015-17.

Mr Mark Sibbering

Vice President

Mr Sibbering is currently a member of the Advisory Committee for Breast Cancer Screening, chair of the Public Health England Research Advisory Committee and Chair of the NHS BSP/ABS Screening Audit. He is also currently vice president of the ABS and chair of the Screening & Audit Committee.

Mr Simon Cawthorn

Honorary Secretary

Simon was appointed a consultant breast surgeon at Frenchay Hospital in 1990, when there were three breast units in Bristol, and Frenchay was the regional plastic surgery unit. It took nearly 20 years to achieve a single integrated screening and symptomatic breast assessment and treatment centre in Bristol on the site of the pastic surgery service. Simon feels that the result is a great team which each member is proud to be a part of. He was elected Secretary of the ABS almost four years ago and has valued the experience of working with another great team.

Prof Philip Drew

Honorary Treasurer

Mrs Katy Hogben

Meetings Secretary

Miss Julie Doughty

Chair, Education & Training Committee 

Professor Malcolm Reed

Chair, Academic & Research Committee

Professor Reed attended school in Birmingham and subsequently qualified in medicine from the University of Sheffield in 1981. He then underwent surgical training in Birmingham, Derby and Bristol before moving to the University of Louisville in the United States to undertake a research MD. He returned to Sheffield and undertook higher surgical training before becoming appointed a senior lecturer and honorary consultant surgeon at the Royal Hallamshire Hospital in 1992. He was then appointed to the Foundation Chair in Surgical Oncology at the University of Sheffield, taking up the post in 2000. Subsequent roles included head of academic surgery and head of the university Department of Oncology. Professor Reed was appointed Dean of Brighton and Sussex Medical School in 2014. He spends one day a week in clinical work, and the rest of his time in his role as Dean. 

Mr Ashu Gandhi

Chair, Clinical Professional & Standards Committee 

Mr Gandhi works in a very busy breast unit in Manchester. He has research interests in familial breast cancer and the molecular study of mammographic density. He is also involved in breast surgery education and is faculty on live surgery teaching courses and breast cancer family history study courses. Ashu worked for six years as the North West Breast Screening QA surgical representative and has experience and knowledge of the surgical aspects of the NHS Breast Screening Programme.

Ms Lis Grimsey

Nursing Trustee

Ms Grimsey qualified as a nurse in 1986.  She has been working as a nurse practitioner in breast care since 1992 , first at the Breast Diagnostic Unit at the Royal Marsden Hospital for two years and  then for eight years at St George’s Healthcare NHS Trust.  She completed an MSc in Advanced Clinical Practice in Cancer Care at the University of Surrey in 1999.  In 2002 she started work as a Macmillan Consultant Nurse in breast disease at East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust. She sees new and follow up patients and runs the Family History Risk Assessment service. 

Miss Nicola Roche

Ordinary Trustee

Miss Roche is a consultant oncoplastic breast surgeon at the Royal Marsden Hospital. Her main interest is reducing variation in care and ensuring equitable access to best practice for all patients. She is on the breast cancer pathway group of the RM Partners vanguard and a member of the breast CSG. She is also on the appointments panel for the National breast TiG fellowship.

Professor John Benson

Ordinary Trustee

Professor Benson is a consultant breast surgeon in Cambridge and has received doctorates from both Oxford and Cambridge Universities.  He is a Fellow and Director of Clinical Studies, Selwyn College, Cambridge and Professor of Applied Surgical Sciences at Anglia Ruskin University. He has written/edited five books in the field of breast cancer and reconstructive surgery, one of which won a First Prize in the BMA Medical Book Awards (2013). He is also a former member of the Planning Committee for the San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium.