Bye-law of the Association of Breast Surgery

It was agreed by the Trustees on the 30th June 2016 that the membership and appointment process for its committees should be as follows:

Clinical Practice and Standards Committee

Chair Past Chairperson (for 12 months) **Nursing Trustee** Mammary Fold Rep Aesthetic Breast Surgery Committee Chair **BAPRAS** Rep SIBS Rep Sloane Project Rep Chair of NCRAS Breast Cancer SSCRG **HQIP** Audit Rep Chair of the NHS BSP & ABS Audit Chair of ABS/ NHS BSP Screening Committee NHS England Breast Cancer SSCRG **ABS Guidelines Co-ordinator ABS** President **ABS Trustees**

ABS Trustee ABS Trustee ABS Trustee Nominated by Mammary Fold Appointed by the ABS Trustees Nominated by BAPRAS Nominated by SIBS Nominated by the ABS Trustees By appointment to this post By appointment to this post By appointment to this post (ABS/PHE) By appointment to this post (ABS/ PHE) By appointment to this post Appointed by the ABS Trustees **ABS Trustee ABS Trustee**

Regional Representatives: Eastern East Midlands London Merseyside Northern Northern Ireland North West Scotland South East Central South East Coast South West Wales West Midlands Yorkshire & Humberside

Regional representatives must be full fellows of the Association of Breast Surgery. The Honorary Secretary shall oversee the process for the appointment of the Regional Representatives, which shall include seeking nominations for appointment as Regional Representatives from the Members in each respective region. Regional Representatives shall be appointed by ballot of the Members in each respective region. Regional Representatives can be appointed in advance to enable a handover and can take up office at any time of year. Appointments shall be reported at the next Annual General Meeting.

Regional Representatives shall serve for an initial period of two years, which may be extended for a further period of three years at the discretion of the Trustees. A retiring Regional Representative may not serve as Regional Representative for the same region until at least a further three years

have passed from the date of retirement, unless there is no other candidate in which case they may, if desired, apply at a second call for nominations and if uncontested serve for another 2 year term.

The Committee may appoint a Secretary from within its number. The Chair must circulate a call for expressions of interest to all committee members and can then make a recommendation to the Trustees for their approval.

Academic and Research Committee

Chair	ABS Trustee
Secretary	See below
10 Ordinary Committee members	See below
Trainee Rep	Nominated by the Mammary Fold
Patient Rep	Invited by the Chair
ABS Trustees	

The Secretary and 10 Ordinary Committee members must be fellows of the Association of Breast Surgery. They are appointed by the ABS Trustees on the recommendation of the Committee Chair, following a call for expressions of interest circulated to ABS fellows. The Secretary and 10 Ordinary Committee members will be appointed for a period of 2 years with a possible extension of 3 years at the end of the initial term on the recommendation of the Chair to the ABS Trustees.

Education and Training Committee

Chair	ABS Trustee
Up to 10 Committee Members	
SAS Grade rep	
Nursing rep	
ABS Trustees	

The 10 Committee members, SAS Grade rep and Nursing rep must all be fellows of the ABS and will be appointed by the ABS Trustees on the recommendation of the Committee Chair, following a call for expressions of interest circulated to ABS fellows. They will be appointed for a period of 2 years with a possible extension of 3 years at the end of the initial term on the recommendation of the Chair to the ABS Trustees.

The Committee may appoint a Secretary from within its number. The Chair must circulate a call for expressions of interest to all committee members and can then make a recommendation to the Trustees for their approval.

Aesthetic Breast Surgery Committee

The Trustees are establishing the Aesthetic Breast Surgery Committee for a period of 5 years.

Membership: Chair 6 Committee members

Appointed by the ABS Trustees

The Chair must be a full fellow of the ABS and will be appointed by the ABS Trustees for a period of 2 years, with a possible extension of 3 years if approved by the ABS Trustees.

The Committee members must be fellows of the ABS and will be appointed by the ABS Trustees on the recommendation of the Committee Chair. Committee members will be appointed for a period of 2 years with a possible extension of 3 years at the end of the initial term on the recommendation of the Chair to the ABS Trustees.